Psycho Virgin

Fine, I’ll admit it, I’m a Psycho virgin (I don’t mean I’ve never had sex before and belong in an insane asylum).

What I mean is, I’m probably the only person who has yet to see Alfred Hitchcock’s famous 1960 horror film Psycho, nor do I know anything about it. This could be because I’m not the biggest fan of thrillers, or just because the only movies I ever watch are romantic comedies.

I don’t really know what I’m getting myself into agreeing to watch this, but I’m about to pour myself a glass of wine and see what all the commotion is about.

Here goes nothin’.

Holy shit. I will start off by saying, that was crazy, freaky and weird. This film is supposedly a landmark in horror film history. It amazes me how far thrillers and horror films have come. I guess I’m glad I agreed to watch this film because now I can appreciate the horror films of today that much more (and be able to say I’ve seen the famous Psycho). I suppose I thought this movie would scare me as do modern day horror films, but then realized this was made in 1960 in black and white and began to giggle. 

Now that I’ve seen this film I can really appreciate Alfred Hitchcock and understand that he is quite the daring avant-garde film maker. Everyone seems so familiar with this “infamous” scene in the film which I’m assuming now after watching it is the shower scene, yet I still don’t seem too convinced. Everything seemed so predictable within the first half hour of the movie so I was really pleased with the intriguing plot twist Hitchcock threw in there. I mean lets be honest, whenever anyone checks into a motel they’re going to die, it’s pretty obvious. And then someone is going to come looking for them and they’re going to die too. Then you may think it’s one person but it really ends up being someone else. Oh and then of course there is a decaying dead body hidden in the basement (okay maybe that’s not so obvious). But really, if their hobby is taxidermy, they’re probably a murderer.

“A boys best friend is his mother”

Seeing as it was made in 1960, it’s funny to think about what people thought of as a thriller back then. To me this was a bit comical. Honestly, I found myself laughing a few times (though that could have just been the four glasses of wine).

Although I convinced myself this movie did not scare me, I found myself peeking out of the curtain multiple times in my morning shower.


Leave a comment